Mark A. Wilson

Mark A. Wilson

Hello. My name is Mark and this is my first blog entry.

I took my first steps in the early 1980s when my father brought home the Commodore 64 followed very shortly by the Osborne Executive. I was hooked. Since then, I have never been without at least one computer. As a result, I pursued a career in Information Technology with the explicit focus of building software applications that help–not hinder–people. After all, computers are overly complicated and generally unfriendly enough. Let’s strive to make things better.

So what exactly is Developer Infra? It is my search to identify what it takes to enable software development. The key word being enable:

transitive verb

  1. to provide with the means or opportunity
  2. to make possible, practical, or easy
  3. to cause to operate
  4. to give legal power, capacity, or sanction to

-Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition of ‘enable‘.

Like computers, software development is often overly complicated and generally viewed unfriendly. It does not need to be that way. In my opinion, we need to utilize things that will allow us to focus exclusively on business logic. After all, that is what brings real value to the business and that is our ultimate goal. Right?

I invite you to join me on this journey. Along the way, I hope to collect useful developer infra – articles and links that refer a reader to things that enable software development. I do not pretend to be an expert on all things nor a self-proclaimed computer guru. Even I recognize I have much to learn. So I also invite you to leave a comment. Please do not hesitate to share your knowledge or provide constructive criticism. Together, we can keep moving forward.

Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things – because we’re curious. And curiosity keeps leading us down new paths. We’re always exploring and experimenting.
-Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

